Skip to main content
link to IPM publications & resources
->Home > reports > ann_rpt > AR99

Statewide IPM Grower Advisory Committee

Origin and function

The Statewide IPM Grower Advisory Committee is a group of New York agricultural producers who meet annually to advise the IPM Program on its plans and activities. The Committee was established in 1992 by the governor of New York to ensure that grower input is an important factor at both the policy-making and the operating levels of the IPM Program. Members are invited not only to react to ideas but to help set the agendas for upcoming meetings. Members are also asked to inform their respective industry groups about IPM Program developments and to share with their local state legislators perspectives on the value of the Program.

In 1997 two growers were elected to serve as co-chairpersons of the committee. One of their roles is to communicate a grower’s point of view on the direction and benefits of the IPM Program to state legislators, the state department of Agriculture and Markets, and Cornell’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.


Warren Abbott, field crops, fruit, and vegetable grower

Dawn Betts, grape grower

Walter Blackler, apple grower

Scott Collins, dairy farmer

Randy DeBacco, golf course superintendent

Richard DeGraff, vegetable grower

David Deuel, dairy farmer

Rod Dressel, Sr., apple grower

Bill Erickson, grape grower

Robert Feindt, golf course superintendent

Tom Giles, vegetable grower

Amy Hepworth, apple grower

Carol R. MacNeil, Cornell Cooperative Extension

*Gerry Miller, greenhouse grower

Richard Moses, vegetable grower

Robert Noble, dairy farmer

Darrel Oakes, apple grower

Randall Paddock, IPM consultant to apple growers

Rick Pedersen, vegetable grower

*Brian Reeves, fruit and vegetable grower

John Russel, greenhouse grower

Charles Scheer, nursery grower

Norm Sharman, golf course superintendent

Cal Snow, dairy farmer

David and Janet Vollmer, greenhouse and vegetable growers